mx241
|
d4mxatva.com domain hijackedFYI the old site domain was hijacked by Don Williams of Freedom Motocross Park. Feel free to let him know what you think.
|
Dirtman812
|
pretty freakin pathetic, almost makes me want to go to his track
steve 812
|
bitteroldman
|
I thought this was the U.S., innocent untill proven guilty. Was that domain not expired ? Was it originaly in his name ? Mr. Sick , not seeing your track on this site would lead me to believe that your interest in d-4 is non existent, untill this unprofessional act was done . WNYMA and the new d-4 are so physicaly apart from each other now that i do not think it really matters, nor do i believe that any board members had anything to do with it, as you implied. With the price of gas etc. 99% of the riders are going to go to whatever is closer.... Nice web site ..will save up money and make it to the MT. at least once this year....Maybe even look up Greywolf and say hey!!
|
BKehoe05
|
Just goes to show you how unprofessional some individuals stand to be. Its a real shame... hopefully he is prosecuted to the fullest extent allowed by law!
|
mx241
|
bitteroldman,
the site is a commercial (not personal) site so it changes the stakes a little. What Don did is called Cybersquatting and is illegal when used in bad will and defamation. defend him all you want but i don't think too many people appeciate what he has done. you see, not everone lives 2000 miles from mapleshade or miles mountain some people consider D4 their home that they have built together over the course of years. Regardless of who is in charge or what racks there are we are a tribe of riders who have come together. In the end he didn't take it from D4 he took it from the riders. which is what i am. which is why i have interest.
let me ask you this... if i were to hijack mxride and take it away from wny riders how would you feel?
|
Dirtman812
|
gentlemen,
i come from d6, yeah mind my business, but if you guys might listen for a minute, i may say something you need to hear d6 is one of if not the biggest districts in the country. that being said we have j- law to root for new york on the other hand, is so spilt it's almost criminal, and you have the carpenter boys, kiniry and most notably niccoletton the big stage, plus the best track there ever was or will be. i would much rather race you guys and your tracks than d6 , but they do a much better job of gettin gates and money. yeah there are 3 or 4 different series runnin but they all make money, that's the bottom line. ny has better tracks , you guys just need to get together. just my 2 cents.
steve 812
|
prophecy27
|
As someone that knows a little about the world wide web I thought I had to comment here.
First, it seems that Matt has resolved the issues regarding the old D4 site address and it will now redirect you to the new one. I think I speak for most everyone when I say, thanks for seeing this done.
As for what happened, I for one can't say for sure who did what they did, but it was entirely illegal. I know for a fact that even if the domain name registration period runs out there is typically a 45 day minimum period that the domain name still isn't available to be registered, it can only be re-registered by the prior registrant.
As for the domain being registered under a certain persons name? Well, this would then fall to whether or not that individual was reimbursed by the District for purchasing it . If the district purchased it or reimbursed the person for it, then that domain name becomes the property of the district not of the person who did the registering. I also know this because there are sites out there just for the buying and selling of domain names and people out there that make a living off of buying up domain names and reselling them for a huge profit.
So what was done I would say was entirely wrong. Not just illegal but even more so on a moral level. I am glad that the issue is resolved.
|
mx241
|
correct... the parties involved have realized that this is not as simples as"haha we took your domain", so a transfer back to the district is underway.
|
greywolf
|
| bitteroldman wrote: | | Nice web site ..will save up money and make it to the MT. at least once this year....Maybe even look up Greywolf and say hey!! |
Look forward to it John! I will get a picture on the avitar so you know who to look for (if I can figure out how to do it.)
Tim Swan
|
BKehoe05
|
Oh come on Tim! If I can figure out how to make my own avatar then you should too!
|
|
|